Giselle Marks – The Space I Write In

giselle profile pic

Giselle Marks has been writing for 30 years and finally found the courage to get published. Her first two Regency Romances – The Fencing Master’s Daughter and The Marquis’s Mistake were published by Front Porch Romance. They are not currently available but will be re-released later in 2014.
She has also written the Zeninan Saga, a series of Fantasy/ Sci Fi novels with some sexual content. The first of which – Princess of Zenina will be published shortly.

Capture

1. Writing Station

Every morning, after I stumble from my bed, as soon as I’m dressed, I sit down to write at my computer. My writing station is a very orthodox computer desk in a niche in my dining room.

2. Shelves

Above the computer is a shelf filled with my youngest son’s computer games and DVDs. He is away at university doing his finals in Genetics. I am dreaming of their removal as my bookshelves are overflowing. Beside me is a small bookcase filled mostly with fantasy and sci-fi novels.

3. Walls

I have nothing stuck on the walls, no plot-board or writing exhortations, only a framed painting of some chrysanthemums that I painted some years back and a Japanese calendar sent by my sister from Tokyo. 

4. Coffee

Beside my keyboard I normally have a glass of lemon squash, unlike most writers I am caffeine allergic and so drink neither tea nor coffee.

5. Notebook 

Beside the glass is a notebook where I jot down useful information and things I don’t want to forget. 

6. Lighting

On the other side of the keyboard there is a special light that artificially imitates sunlight which my daughter gave me because I get SAD in the winter.

7. Music

Most days I listen to Youtube while I write, because I like a background noise. I admit to a current preference for Enrique Iglesias, preferably singing in Spanish, which I speak few words of.  I get distracted by the poetry of English words, so this way I can listen to the tune, passion and rhythms. However, today I’ve been listening to Leonard Cohen and the late Jake Thackray, who was a British singer-songwriter with a witty and ribald repertoire. He is practically unknown outside of Britain but has a beautiful deep voice and his words are fabulous. 

8. Schedule 

Over the last few months, I have started my writing day by producing a poem. They vary in length, subject and seriousness considerably. Today’s effort is named Cupid’s Joke… Having written a poem today, I read a friend’s comments on my main work in progress, a third Regency romance with the working title A Compromised Rake. I have reached 14K in length and will work on it when I have finished this piece which I started a few days back.

9. Unfinished Business 

I am particularly busy at present because I have several projects unfinished. I have to republish my first two Regency romances which were released late last year by Front Porch Romance. Front Porch Romance has closed so the copyright has reverted to me. I think they were rather over-priced, and hope that despite republishing them, they will make more sales with reasonable pricing.

Then I also intend to release the first of my books in The Zeninan Saga, Princess of Zenina, and I am undertaking a minor revision before publishing. The Saga extends to twelve books so far, all unpublished. It is fantasy/sci-fi with sexual content.  It’s set in the far future mostly in a group of planets administered from Zenina, which is a female dominated planet.

My friend, fellow writer and cover artist Sarah J. Waldock has already created a cover for Princess. We are discussing whether to change the cover for The Fencing Master’s Daughter and how to alter the one for The Marquis’s Mistake.  Together we are writing an anthology of fairy and mythic tales intended for adults, we are about three quarters completed and will then illustrate it together. We may also produce a book of our poetry together.

10. Books

On the other side of the room, there are two larger bookcases, flanked by windows overlooking my small garden. There is a pile of mostly reference books, which have overflowed in one corner. Quotations, thesaurus, atlas, two biographical dictionaries and Wellington’s War number among them. More crammed bookcases can be found in all of my rooms, except the kitchen and bathroom.  Most of my collection of historical books and Regency romances are in the front room.

11. Between the Lines

When I’m not writing, my characters will be sorting out their scenes in the back of my head. They have learned not to be too noisy and distracting because then I might make them wait before writing their tales. But I know I have to work hard because I have so many stories they want me to tell.

@GiselleMarks1

 

 

Leave a Reply

