Smadar Zamir – The Space I Write In

Note: Hyperlinks that end with an asterisk lead to Hebrew web pages.

sss

Smadar is a filmmaker. Here’s a link to her short film Between the Lines. She also lectures and writes* about cinema* and gender*. Smadar received her BFA in film studies from the Sapir College and her MA in gender studies from the Bar Ilan University.

Capture smadar 

1. My Computer

I do most of my writing on my computer and it’s my best friend (as a colleague). It took me ages to get used to writing on a computer, but today I can’t see myself writing in any other way.  On writing days, I write for about six hours in total. I have many files on my desktop which contain texts on different issues, at different stages of writing. Stacks of virtual paper meticulously organized. I tend to fill the desktop with documents and then sort them into files or delete them.

2. The Transparent Plastic Drawer

This is the messy area of the table. It absorbs everything that has to be done: paying the municipal tax bill, filing a paycheck stub, a form that has to be filled out for something or other, and a note of love. I try to empty it once every two weeks, but it can also take a few months…

3. The Enamel Bowl

It reminds me to stop and eat a fruit or two, or a nut, and also makes me feel the warmth of home. In general I have discovered that taking a break in order to cook, wash the dishes, or fold the laundry, truly helps and grounds me during a writing day. I try hard not to be sucked in by the writing, but to practice it as part of an assembly of actions that comprise my daily routine.

4. My Couch

This couch, which is the most comfortable couch in the whole world and cost us close to nothing, is where I settle down when I need to read or when I just feel the need to change position. Suddenly I’m working cross-legged or semi-reclined.

5. My Water Bottle

I drink a lot of water. All the time. So the glass and the jug of water, which is actually a former bottle of juice, are always on the table. Drinking water allows me to linger for a moment and it revitalizes me too.

6. The Floor

I wander on it; roam around in search of the word, the sentence, the idea, the narrative, the beginning, the end, the secret. These strolls, during which I tend to talk to myself, often make me more accurate, more precise.

7. Jean-Luc

The cutest medium sized dog. He is always present in my writing space.  Bestowing me with endless love, and reminding me to take breaks and kiss him. Sometimes he can get into a fit of barking, but that usually happens when I’m talking on the phone, not when I’m writing.

8. Shesh-Besh (Backgammon in Hebrew)

The cutest big dog.  He too is here to remind me to love, just that during the summer he prefers to stretch out in the sun outside.

9. My Cellphone – Stacy

She’s not in the photo but you can see her case. Stacy is on the one hand a very important work tool, but she is also a devious distractor. I try to put her on silent mode when I wish to write undisturbed.  I usually filter calls and return them when I’m on a break or at the end of the day.

10. My Clipboard

I got it from friends.  I use it to pin up the newest form I have created for myself, in order to perform the various tasks at hand efficiently, and stay on the ball. I put a lot of time into inventing these forms and still haven’t found the perfect formula. I used a weekly table organized according to hours, a notebook, sticky notes…
Currently I’m using a table organized according to task and follow-up.

Leave a Reply

